Alumni Association Board

The mission of the Materials Science and Engineering Alumni Association (MatSEAA) is to foster the advancement of the MatSE Department, The Grainger College of Engineering, University of Illinois and its Alumni Association. Active membership is open to all alumni of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering. All past officers of the MatSEAA may serve as ex-officio members of the Board. The head of the Department is also tendered this privilege. Meetings are held twice a year, in the fall and in the spring, on the campus of the University of Illinois.

The purposes of the MatSEAA are as follows:

  • To offer and maintain mutually beneficial communications between the Department of Materials Science and Engineering and its alumni.
  • To support and encourage the continual development of a high level of excellence in teaching, research and public service by the Materials Science and Engineering faculty.
  • To encourage the continuation of the high level of creative and professional excellence which is so broadly recognized among graduates of the Department.
  • To continually strive to enhance the national and international reputation of the Department and its alumni.
  • To seek, through Departmental and alumni efforts, a high quality of students at both the undergraduate and graduate levels.
  • To help the Department reach out to high school students and foster their interests in the degree programs at the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Illinois.

Photo of Board members


MatSE Alumni Board

Candidates for the MatSE Alumni Board are nominated by the Nominating Committee and the Board of Directors and presented for approval and election by the members present at the annual meeting. Each member of the Board serves a four-year term. Board members may be reelected to a maximum of eight years.

To be considered for membership or for more information, contact the MatSE Department at (217) 333-1441.


  • President, Howard Savage
  • Vice President, Zeba Parkar


  • Meena Banasiak BS MatSE '06, Phoenix Closures
  • Daniel Bergstrom, BS '92, PhD '97, Intel
  • Martin Brotschul BS Cer '96, Deloitte Consulting LLP
  • Laura Cohen, BS '07, Continental
  • Kristina Galis, BS '08, MS '09, Baxter
  • Matthew George, PhD '09, MOXTEK
  • Craig Gowin BS MatSE ’00, Pepsico
  • Khalid Hattar, PhD '06, Sandia
  • Liang Hong PhD MatSE '07, Dow Chemical
  • Dan Lillig, BS Met '93, Phd '00, Exxon Mobile
  • Katharine Nickell BS ChemE ’03, MS MatSE ’05, Wrigley
  • Zeba Parkar, PhD '11, Entreprenuer
  • Michael Pollard BS Met '97, MS MatSE '98, Caterpillar
  • Howard Savage BS Met '84, MS Met '88, PhD Met '91, Cummins
  • Alp Sehirlioglu, PhD '05, Case Western Reserve University
  • Donna Senft, PhD, '94, US Air Force
  • Kyle Wilcoxen, Past President, BS MatSE '06, Information Resources, Inc.


  • James Burk BS Met '73, MS Met '74, PhD Met '78, B.P. Exploration
  • Ray Capek BS Cer '58, MS Cer '59, PhD Cer '61, Candescent-retired
  • Charles Connors BS Cer '60, Magneco Metrel Incorporated
  • Russ Duttweiler BS Met '60, R&D Consulting
  • Martin Kopchak BS Met '73, MS Met '76, Caterpillar
  • Ken Kuna BS Cer '68, MS Cer '69, University of Detroit Mercy
  • Keith Meyer BS Met '80, Boeing
  • Doug Ruhmann BS Met '64, Boeing-retired
  • David Teter BS Met '90, PhD Met '96, Los Alamos National Lab
  • Sheryl Tipton BS Met '80, Caterpillar-retired
  • Britt Turkot, BS '90, MS '92, PhD '96, Intel

MatSE Senior Advisory Committee (SAC)

SAC is a committee composed of senior-level executives (active and retired) who assist and counsel the department head on matters affecting the growth and function of the MatSE Department.


  • Andy Blake BS MechE '80, MS Met '82, Intrinsix LLC
  • Jim Burk BS Met '73, MS Met '74, PhD Met '78, BP America
  • Ray Capek BS Cer '58, MS Cer '59, PhD Cer '61, Candescent-retired
  • Ron Davis BS Cer '69, Indiana Metal Craft, Inc.
  • Robert Eagan MS Cer '68, PhD Cer '71, Coldspring Pumps, Inc.
  • Jerry Elliott BS Met '82, Ostrander & Preston
  • Frank Gac BS Cer '73, Los Alamos National Laboratory-retired
  • Steve Grant BS Cer '81, TriQuint Semiconductor
  • Beverly Huss BS Met '82, Qool Therapeutics
  • Ken Kuna BS Cer '68, MS Cer '69, Univ. of Detroit, Mercy-retired
  • Vonne Linse BS Met '62, Regal Technology Corporation
  • Ron Morris BS Met '59, Western Industries, Inc.-retired
  • Carolyn Primus BS Cer '74, Avalon Biomed Inc.
  • Dean Sanner BS Cer '58, Sanner Enterprises LLC-retired
  • Dawn White BS Met '79, MS Met '81, PhD MechE '86, Accio Energy