Paul Braun

Researchers gain control over internal structure of self-assembled composite materials

Thu, 01/16/2020 - 08:46  

Composites made from self-assembling inorganic materials are valued for their unique strength and thermal, optical and magnetic properties. However, because self-assembly can be difficult to control, the structures formed can be highly disordered, leading to defects during large-scale production. Researchers at the University of Illinois and the University of Michigan have developed a templating technique that instills greater order and gives rise to new 3D structures in a special class of materials, called eutectics, to form new, high-performance materials.

Nancy Sottos, Head of MatSE

Nancy Sottos begins tenure as Head of MatSE

Tue, 01/07/2020 - 10:06  

Nancy Sottos, Professor and Swanlund Chair, began serving as the permanent Head of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering on January 1, 2020.

Brian Jing and Chris Evans

New polymer material may help batteries become self-healing, recyclable

Mon, 01/06/2020 - 13:15  

Lithium-ion batteries are notorious for developing internal electrical shorts that can ignite a battery’s liquid electrolytes, leading to explosions and fires. Engineers at the University of Illinois have developed a solid polymer-based electrolyte that can self-heal after damage – and the material can also be recycled without the use of harsh chemicals or high temperatures.

The new study, which could help manufacturers produce recyclable, self-healing commercial batteries, is published in the Journal of the American Chemical Society.

Siddharth Krishnan

Siddharth Krishnan named Forbes 30 Under 30

Mon, 01/06/2020 - 11:32  

Siddharth Krishnan graduated with his PhD from MatSE in 2019. He is currently a postdoctoral research at MIT.

Krishnan's work is aimed at developing wearable sensors and implantable devices for drug delivery. One innovation he's been a part of is integrating nanofilms of high-quality electronic materials into soft, stretchable sheets of rubber creating skin-like sensors that can detect a variety of health indicators after being applied to the skin like a temporary tattoo.

Study: Stress changes the normal aging process of metallic glass

Thu, 12/19/2019 - 17:20  

Researchers in the Department of Materials Science at Illinois have found that by applying stress to metallic glasses, it is possible to disrupt the normal aging process of these alloys. The findings, published in Nature Communications, may contribute to an understanding of how to extend the life of this material.

David Cahill named 2019 AAAS Fellow

Mon, 12/02/2019 - 10:52  

Cahill is a Willett Professor of Engineering and was the department head of materials science and engineering from 2010-18. He is an expert on the concept of minimum thermal conductivity and transient optical measurement techniques. His research program focuses on developing a microscopic understanding of thermal transport at the nanoscale; the discovery of materials with enhanced thermal function; the interactions between phonons, electrons, photons and spin; and advancing fundamental understanding of interfaces between materials and water.

Axel Hoffmann

Axel Hoffmann named Highly Cited Researcher

Fri, 11/22/2019 - 10:26  

Hoffmann is a Founder Professor in materials science and engineering and a member of the Materials Research Laboratory. His research focuses on topics related to magnetism, such as spin transport, magnetization dynamics and biomedical applications. His work on spin Hall effects has contributed to the development of spintronics, electronic devices that harness electron spin for faster and more efficient computing.

2019 Distinguished Merit Awardee: Zhiyong Ma

Mon, 11/18/2019 - 09:23  

Zhiyong Ma received his PhD from Materials Science and Engineering in 1994, conducting his research as a member of Professor Les Allen’s group. Prior to coming to Illinois, Dr. Ma received his bachelor’s degree from Shanghai University in 1984 and masters in Materials Science and Engineering from Purdue in 1990. 

Young Alumni Award 2019

Mon, 11/18/2019 - 08:59  

Dr. Hunter McDaniel

BS-EE and Physics UCSB, 2006
PhD-MatSE, 2011

Bent Graphene

Graphene: The more you bend it, the softer it gets

Wed, 11/13/2019 - 11:41  

Graduate student Edmund Han, left, professor Elif Ertekin, graduate student Jaehyung Yu, professor Pinshane Y. Huang, front, and professor Arend M. van der Zande have determined how much energy it takes to bend multilayer graphene – a question that has long eluded scientists.

Jessica Krogstad

Jessica Krogstad wins TMS Early Career Faculty Fellow Award

Thu, 11/07/2019 - 15:47  

Funded by The Minerals, Metals & Materials (TMS) Foundation, this award recognizes an assistant professor for accomplishments that have advanced the academic institution where employed, and for abilities to broaden the technological profile of TMS.

Krogstad will give a lecture presentation, “Challenging the Paradigm for Materials in Extreme Environments: Embracing Dynamic Material Properties,” at the Young Professional Luncheon/Lecture on Tuesday, February 25. 

Yingjie Zhang

Yingjie Zhang Awarded ACS PRF Doctoral New Investigator Grant

Wed, 11/06/2019 - 10:58  

Yingjie Zhang, assistant professor of Materials Science and Engineering, has been granted a doctoral new investigator award from the American Chemical Society Petroleum Research Fund. The award supports a project titled "In-Situ Imaging and Spectroscopy of Asphaltene Adsorption at Oil-Solid Interfaces." 

Qian Chen and graduate students

Crystallization clarified, researchers report

Wed, 10/30/2019 - 15:42  

By Lois Yoksoulian, News Bureau

Professor Qian Chen, seated, and graduate students Binbin Luo, left, and Zihao Ou collaborated with researchers at Northwestern University to observe and simulate the formation of crystalline materials at a much higher resolution than before.

Photo by Fred Zwicky

Nicola Perry

Nicola Perry receives J. Bruce Wagner, Jr. Award from the Electrochemical Society

Wed, 10/23/2019 - 12:04  

Perry was recognized "for developing an improved understanding of the factors impacting chemical expansion in perovskite-structured materials, of widespread technological significance in both batteries and fuel cell materials, and for creative in situ measurements establishing correlations between the defect and band structures of mixed ionic/electronic conducting oxides, and their transport and optical properties and SOFC electrode oxygen exchange kinetics."

Tenure and tenure track positions open

2 open-rank faculty positions available

Wed, 10/23/2019 - 11:02  

The Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MatSE) at the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign is seeking to fill multiple tenured or tenure track faculty positions in all ranks. We particularly seek candidates with research interests in two priority areas: (1) biological and biomedical materials and (2) metals, in both cases with an emphasis on experimental research. However, candidates with research interests in other areas of materials science and engineering are also encouraged to apply.

3rd Ranked Undergraduate Materials Science Program U.S News & World Reports


Wed, 09/11/2019 - 09:53  

MatSE's undergraduate program ranking has increased from 5th in 2019 to 3rd in 2020. See the full list of U.S. News and World Report rankings here.

Waltraud Kriven

Kriven paper honored with Key Scientific Article, Advances in Engineering

Fri, 09/06/2019 - 09:11  

Professor Waltraud Kriven, Willet Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, has been honored by Advances in Engineering with a Key Scientific Article for the paper, "In-situ investigation Hf6Ta2O17 anisotropic thermal expansion and topotactic, peritectic transformation," written with graduate student Scott McCormack.