News Stories

MatSE undergraduate program ranked #2

Wed, 09/09/2015 - 09:30  

U.S News & World Report ranks the undergraduate program in MatSE at Illinois #2 in the nation in its 2016 Best Colleges rankings.

Dillon to receive 2015 Coble Award

Fri, 09/04/2015 - 07:00  

Shen Dillon has been selected as the 2015 recipient of the American Ceramic Society's Robert L. Coble Award for Young Scholars. The award recognizes outstanding scientists who are conducting research in academia, industry, or government-funded laboratories.

Schweizer to receive 2016 ACS Hildebrand Award

Wed, 08/19/2015 - 00:00  

Ken Schweizer has been selected as the recipient of the 2016 American Chemical Society Joel Henry Hildebrand Award in the Theoretical and Experimental Chemistry of Liquids. The award recognizes his distinguished contributions to the understanding of the chemistry and physics of liquids.

Zuo to receive 2015 Ernst Ruska Prize

Mon, 08/17/2015 - 08:30   Jian-Min (Jim) Zuo has been selected to receive the internationally renowned Ernst Ruska Prize from the German Society for Electron Microscopy. Zuo receives the prize for his improvement of electron diffraction techniques and analysis.

Ferguson to receive ACS Junior Faculty Award

Mon, 08/10/2015 - 12:00  

Andrew Ferguson has been selected for the ACS Junior Faculty Award in Computational Chemistry for Fall 2015. He is one of four awardees named by the Computers in Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society. The award recognizes Ferguson's use of physical chemistry motivated computational models in the rational design of hepatitis C virus vaccines.

MatSE grad named to ITF "50 for the Future"

Tue, 03/24/2015 - 09:15   Hanze Ying, a Ph.D. student in the Cheng group, was recently honored as a 2015 Illinois Technology Foundation "Fifty for the Future" Awardee.

Cheng selected as ACS-POLY fellow

Thu, 02/26/2015 - 02:00  

Jianjun Cheng has been selected as an ACS-POLY fellow. Only 0.1% of the membership are chosen by a selection committee to receive this honor each year. He will be recognized at the spring ACS national meeting in Denver.

Kilian receives NSF CAREER Award

Thu, 02/12/2015 - 07:30   A new technique being developed by Kris Kilian could revolutionize medicine by enabling a patient's own cells to be reverted back and modified to correct mutations and regenerate injured tissues. He has received an NSF CAREER Award for his work.

Cahill to receive the Touloukian Award

Wed, 02/04/2015 - 05:30   David Cahill will receive the 2015 Yeram S. Touloukian Award from ASME. The award is given every three years in recognition of outstanding technical contributions in the field of thermophysical properties.

MatSE grads receive honors at MRS meeting

Fri, 01/09/2015 - 09:15   Thu Doan (Sottos group) won first place in the "Science as Art" contest. Andy Long (Ferguson group) placed third in the Materials Hackathon and won an Outstanding Student Presenter Award.

MatSE grads are named Mavis Fellows

Wed, 07/23/2014 - 09:30   Kaitlin Tyler, PhD student in the Paul Braun group, and Jichuan Zhang, PhD student in the Taekjip Ha group, have been named Mavis Future Faculty Fellows in the College of Engineering. The MF3 program provides the opportunity for doctoral students interested in engineering teaching as a profession to gain experience in the areas of research, teaching and mentoring.

MatSE undergrad selected for Cargill Global Scholars

Wed, 07/02/2014 - 12:30  

Jay Fleischman has been selected for the 2014 Cargill Global Scholars program. The program provides scholarships and leadership development opportunities to undergraduates from around the world studying in a field relevant to food, agriculture, and risk management. It is a highly selective program, and Fleischman was the only student chosen from the U of I.

MatSE students receive MRS Silver Graduate Student Awards

Thu, 06/12/2014 - 06:00   Anoop Rama Damodaran and Canan Dagdeviren were awarded MRS Silver Graduate Student Awards for their presentations at the 2014 Materials Research Society (MRS) Spring Meeting in San Francisco.

Kilian receives NIH grant for stem cell research

Thu, 05/29/2014 - 09:00   Kris Kilian has received a two-year grant from the National Institutes of Health. The grant will allow him to explore the biophysical and biochemical factors that direct mesenchymal stem cell secretion, in order to design new stem cell-based materials for cardiovascular therapy.

MatSE grad wins Illinois Innovation Prize

Thu, 05/01/2014 - 04:30  

Canan Dagdeviren, Ph.D. student in the Rogers research group, has received the $20,000 Illinois Innovation Prize. The Innovation Award is given to "one student who stands out as a passionate innovator and entrepreneur, who is working with world-changing technology and is seen as a role model for others."

MatSE grad student receives fellowship for medical imaging research

Wed, 04/23/2014 - 04:30  

Qian Yin, PhD student in the Cheng group, has received a Nadine Barrie Smith Memorial Fellowship. The fellowships are for female engineering graduate students who are conducting research in the general field of medical imaging at the Beckman Institute.

Nemec selected for Knights of St. Patrick

Fri, 02/07/2014 - 03:00  

MatSE senior Stephanie Nemec has been selected for the Knights of St. Patrick Class of 2014. Nemec is president of Material Advantage at the University of Illinois.

Ferguson receives NSF CAREER Award

Wed, 02/05/2014 - 10:30  

Andy Ferguson has received a National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award for his proposal "Teaching Machines to Design Self-Assembling Materials."

Zuo named APS Fellow

Tue, 01/14/2014 - 10:00  

Jim Zuo has been named a 2013 Fellow of the American Physical Society "for major contributions to the development of electron nanodiffraction and coherent diffraction for quantitative atomic structural analysis, and to their applications in fundamental understanding of nanoscale structural physics in solids, solid interfaces and surfaces."

Graduate students win MRS Gold Award

Thu, 12/05/2013 - 05:00  

Chunjie Zhang, PhD student in the Braun group, won the Materials Research Society Graduate Student Gold Award for his paper, "Hydrogel Sensor Materials for Continuous Glucose Monitoring." James Pikul, co-advised by Paul Braun and Bill King (MechSE), also received a Gold Award for his paper, "High Power Primary Lithium Ion Micro Batteries." There were more than 260 students nominated for this award, with about 30 finalists and 9 winners.