News Stories

Cheng named associate of CAS

Tue, 11/26/2013 - 04:30  

Jianjun Cheng has been appointed an Associate of the Center for Advanced Studies at the University of Illinois.

Ferguson recognized for his pioneering work in vaccine development

Tue, 11/12/2013 - 08:00   Andrew Ferguson has received the Young Chemical Engineer of the Year Award-North America from the Institution of Chemical Engineers. The award is in recognition of his impressive work on thermodynamic modeling for the development of HIV vaccines.

Students and alumni receive College awards

Wed, 04/17/2013 - 09:45  

MatSE undergrads and alumni will be receiving awards at the College of Engineering ceremony on April 20. Beverly Huss (B.S. Metallurgical Engr. 1982) will receive the Alumni Award for Distinguished Service. Jaime Kelleher will receive the H. L. Wakeland Undergraduate Leadership Award, and Parul Koul will receive the Stanley H. Pierce Award.

Grads receive NSF Fellowships

Thu, 04/04/2013 - 07:00  

Kaila Bertsch (Robertson group) and Lisa Pogue (Rockett group) have received 2013 NSF Fellowships.

AkzoNobel Award to be given to MatSE graduate

Wed, 03/13/2013 - 03:30  

Hua Lu (PhD MatSE 2011) will receive the 2013 AkzoNobel Award for Outstanding Graduate Research in Polymer Chemistry from the American Chemical Society for his thesis work with JJ Cheng at Illinois. ACS will organize a half-day symposium during the 2013 fall meeting in his honor.

MatSE grad receives MRS Silver Award

Tue, 12/04/2012 - 04:45  

Karthik Jambunathan, Ph.D. student in Lane Martin's group, has received the MRS Silver Award for "Effect of 90 degree domain walls and thermal expansion mismatch on pyroelectricity in epitaxial ferroelectric thin films."

MatSE student wins speaking contest

Thu, 10/11/2012 - 03:30  

Spencer Wells, senior in MatSE, won the Student Speaking Contest at MS&T'12 in Pittsburgh, PA.

MatSE graduates selected for Bronze Tablet

Mon, 05/14/2012 - 07:00  

Eugene Cho, Zach Dahl, and John Glauber are Bronze Tablet recipients. Selection for the Bronze Tablet is a recognition of continuous high academic achievement and is awarded to students in the top 3% of their college graduating class.

Grad students receive Racheff-Intel Awards

Tue, 04/17/2012 - 04:30  

The winners of the 2012 Racheff-Intel Awards are Li Tang (Cheng group), Karthik Jambunathan (Martin group), Brett Beiermann (Sottos group), and May Martin (Robertson group). They will present their research at the department seminar on April 26.

Langer wins Cozad competition

Tue, 04/03/2012 - 06:15  

Serionix, a company founded by MatSE grad student Jim Langer, won 1st place ($15,000) in the Cozad New Venture Competition.

MatSE grad receives research award

Fri, 02/17/2012 - 10:00  

Bo Wang (PhD MatSE 2011) has received the Ross J. Martin Award from the College of Engineering for outstanding research achievement. The award, worth $2,000, will be presented to Wang at the Engineering Awards Convocation on April 23.

Cahill named MRS Fellow

Tue, 02/07/2012 - 08:30  

David Cahill has been selected as a 2012 MRS Fellow. The title of MRS Fellow honors MRS members for their distinguished research accomplishments and their outstanding contributions to the advancement of materials research world-wide. The maximum number of new Fellow appointments each year is limited to 0.2% of the current MRS membership.

Naber featured on Big Ten Network

Mon, 02/06/2012 - 10:45  

On February 7 at 8 p.m. CST, the Big Ten Network series "Impact the World" hosted by Dennis Haysbert, concentrates on ground-breaking medical breakthroughs. Illinois is represented in a segment on MatSE alumnus Jonathan Naber and his nonprofit company, Illini Prosthetic Technologies.

Kenny Long named Knight of St. Patrick

Wed, 02/01/2012 - 02:30  

Kenny Long, MatSE senior, has been named a Knight of St. Patrick, an honor given by the College of Engineering to approximately 10-15 students who represent leadership, excellence in character, and exceptional contribution to the College. Long serves as president of Engineers Without Borders, Global Development Council and Honors Student Council, and is a member of the Board of Governors for the University YMCA.

MatSE grad students receive best poster awards

Mon, 12/05/2011 - 07:00  

Two MatSE graduate students received awards at the 2011 MRS Fall Meeting. Hefei Dong, Ph.D. student in Jeffrey Moore's group, received a Best Poster Award for his poster "Multifunctional Microvascular Composites Fabricated from Coated Sacrificial Fibers (CSFs)." David Kolesky, Ph.D. student in Jennifer Lewis' group, received a Best Poster Award for his poster "Direct-Write Assembly of Micro-energetic Materials."

Koul wins Student Speaking Contest

Mon, 10/31/2011 - 04:30  

MatSE undergraduate Parul Koul won the Student Speaking Contest at MS&T'11 for her talk "Hex Mesh Degradation Investigation."

Students selected as Racheff Teaching Fellows

Wed, 09/07/2011 - 05:00  

Joshua Kacher (MSE 307), Hailong Ning (MSE 307), and Xuan Zhang (MSE 401) were selected as Racheff Teaching Fellows for Fall 2011.

Yasi receives Acta Student Award

Tue, 08/02/2011 - 06:00  

Joseph Yasi, a Ph.D. student in Dallas Trinkle's group, has been selected to receive an Acta Student Award, worth $2,000, for his paper "First-principles data for solid-solution strengthening of magnesium: From geometry and chemistry to properties." The award will be presented at the MS&T Meeting in Columbus, OH, in October.

Robertson receives DOE award

Mon, 07/25/2011 - 04:45  

Ian Robertson and Petros Sofronis, Mechanical Science and Engineering, have received the 2011 Delivery Team Award from the U.S. Department of Energy's Hydrogen and Fuel Cells Program.

Sottos recognized by SEM

Mon, 05/30/2011 - 21:45  

Nancy Sottos has received two awards from the Society for Experimental Mechanics. The 2011 Frocht Award recognizes Sottos as the Experimental Mechanics Educator of the Year. The 2011 Lazan Award recognizes Nancy's distinguished technical contributions to the field of experimental mechanics.