News Stories

Undergraduates receive Bronze Tablet honors

Tue, 04/27/2010 - 06:00  

Seven MatSE undergraduates were named 2010 Bronze Tablet Scholars. They are William Chemelewski, Jonathan Bartelt, Jian Wei Cheng, Kang Jie Lim, Lisa Mazzocco, Stephen Menke, and Chuan Hui Moh. The University of Illinois began the tradition of inscribing the Bronze Tablets with the names of students receiving University Honors in 1925. A new tablet is hung in the Main Library each year. Inscription on the Bronze Tablets recognizes sustained academic achievement by undergraduate students at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. According to the Student Code, students must have at least a 3.5 cumulative grade point-average through the academic term prior to graduation, and rank in the top three percent of the students in their graduating class.

Espinoza receives NSF Fellowship

Fri, 04/09/2010 - 09:30  

Christian Espinoza, Ph.D. student in Trudy Kriven's group, has been selected to receive a 2010 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship, worth $30,000 per year.

Dunham receives Mavis Award

Fri, 04/09/2010 - 09:30  

Simon Dunham, Ph.D. student in John Rogers' group, has received a Mavis Memorial Fund Scholarship Award, worth $5,000, from the College of Engineering. Preference in choosing award winners is given to those students planning to become engineering teachers.

Wang receives Padden Award from APS

Tue, 03/23/2010 - 05:45   Bo Wang, graduate student in Prof. Granick's group, received the 2010 Frank J. Padden Award, given by the American Physical Society. This is a national award for excellence in polymer physics research.

Koh receives Ross Martin Award

Fri, 03/19/2010 - 14:30  

Yee Kan Koh, PhD student in Prof. Cahill's group, is the 2010 recipient of the Ross J. Martin Award. This award recognizes outstanding research achievement by a graduate student in the College of Engineering.

Braun to receive Pierce Faculty Award

Mon, 03/15/2010 - 09:45  

Paul Braun has been named the recipient of the 2010 Stanley H. Pierce Faculty Award. The award is given annually to a faculty member in the College of Engineering who is selected as having done the most to develop empathetic student-faculty cooperation.

Naber chosen as Lemelson MIT-Illinois Student Prize Finalist

Wed, 02/10/2010 - 04:00  

MatSE junior Jonathan Naber was selected as a finalist for the $30,000 Lemelson MIT-Illinois Student Prize. Naber has developed an affordable prosthetic arm for people in underdeveloped countries with the help of his team, Illini Prosthetics Team. Putting aside his initial focus to make a state-of-the-art prosthetic arm with electronic components, he has created an arm from recycled materials that is extremely functional, durable and easily manufactured. In his development of this product, he will travel to Guatemala this summer to field test the prototype at a prosthetics clinic. Naber is currently creating a plan to start a production facility in a developing east African nation that will supply prosthetic arms to amputee populations in Sierra Leone and Liberia.

Mazzocco named Knight of St. Pat

Mon, 02/08/2010 - 09:30  

MatSE senior Lisa Mazzocco has been named a 2010 Knight of St. Patrick. The Knight of St. Patrick is an annual award given by the College of Engineering to approximately 10-15 students who represent leadership, excellence in character, and exceptional contribution to the College of Engineering and its students.

Johnson named Racheff Professor

Tue, 11/24/2009 - 07:30  

Duane Johnson has been named the Ivan Racheff Professor of Materials Science and Engineering. An investiture ceremony will take place in the spring semester.

Polymer student selected for symposium

Tue, 11/10/2009 - 09:15  

Hua Lu, Ph.D. student in Jianjun Cheng's group, was selected as one of 18 students nationwide for the Excellence in Graduate Polymer Research Symposium, sponsored by the ACS Division of Polymer Chemistry and cosponsored by the Society Committee on Education, Younger Chemists Committee and the Division of Professional Relations. This symposium has also been designated (and co-sponsored) as a Presidential Event at the National ACS Meeting in San Francisco. Selection to this symposium is a distinct honor and recognition among the polymer community.

Rockett chosen as AVS President-Elect

Mon, 11/02/2009 - 05:00  

Angus Rockett is the new President-Elect of the AVS Science and Technology Society. He will begin serving his term in early December. Rockett will serve as AVS President beginning in December 2010.

Lewis receives Langmuir Lecture Award

Thu, 08/27/2009 - 10:00  

Jennifer Lewis received an American Chemical Society Langmuir Lecture Award at the 2009 Fall ACS meeting.

Payne to receive Buessem Award

Fri, 08/21/2009 - 05:45  

David Payne has been selected as the 2009 W.R. Buessem Award winner by the Center for Dielectric Studies at Penn State. The recognition is for "outstanding contributions in the field of dielectrics and piezoelectrics."

Student selected for SPE scholarship

Fri, 07/31/2009 - 06:30  

Zeba Farheen Abdul Samad, Ph.D. student in the Economy research group, was selected as one of two 2009-2010 SPE Automotive Composites Conference & Exhibition scholarship award winners. She will receive $2,000 and will speak at next year's conference in Troy, Michigan, to give the results of her research.

Robertson named ASM Fellow

Tue, 07/21/2009 - 05:45  

Ian Robertson has been named a Fellow of ASM International.

Grad student receives 2009 Bostik Award

Tue, 04/21/2009 - 05:00  

Zeba Farheen Abdul Samad, PhD. student in Jim Economy's research group, has received the 2009 Bostik Award for her paper, "Advanced Aerospace Composites Using an Aromatic Thermosetting Copolyester Matrix Improved Thermal Fatigue." The award, worth $1,000, will be presented to her during the Society of Plastics Engineers ANTEC 2009 on June 23 in Chicago.

Grad students receive Mavis Awards

Tue, 03/17/2009 - 04:00  

Christopher Hansen and Bo Wang have been selected to receive 2010 Mavis Memorial Fund Scholarship Awards worth $5,000 from the College of Engineering.

Bellon receives Pierce Award

Mon, 03/02/2009 - 08:30  

Pascal Bellon was named the recipient of the faculty Pierce Award for 2009. The Stanley Pierce Award recognizes faculty who make major and significant contributions to undergraduate education.

Braun receives Xerox Award

Mon, 02/23/2009 - 03:30  

Paul Braun has been named a recipient of one of the 2009 Xerox Awards for Faculty Research.

MatSE grad students among finalists for Lemelson prize

Mon, 01/26/2009 - 02:00  

Jang-Ung Park and Robert Shepherd are among the eight finalists for the $30,000 Lemelson-Illinois Student Prize, which recognizes outstanding student inventors. Park and Prof. John Rogers have invented techniques for an electrohydrodynamic jet (e-jet) printing process that can produce patterns and functional devices that establish new resolution benchmarks for liquid printing which significantly exceed those of conventional inkjet technologies. Shepherd is currently working on creating a standard, less complicated, more flexible micro electrical-mechanical systems (MEMS) fabrication route which can generate these parts at rates of 100’s per second using low cost material feed stock. The market for MEMS is emergent and large; with devices encompassing microphones, implantable drug delivery systems, accelerometers, and lenses.