News Stories

Trinkle receives NSF CAREER Award

Tue, 01/20/2009 - 08:00  

Dallas Trinkle has received a Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Award from the National Science Foundation. This is the NSF’s most prestigious award for young faculty who have shown exceptional promise in teaching and research.

Altstetter recognized for research

Tue, 09/16/2008 - 10:00  

The organizers of the 2008 International Hydrogen Conference presented Carl Altstetter with a certificate of achievement for advances made in the field of hydrogen effects on materials.

Shim Promoted to Associate

Wed, 08/20/2008 - 06:00  

Moonsub Shim has been promoted from assistant professor to associate professor with indefinite tenure.

Johnson receives NCSA Fellowship

Wed, 07/09/2008 - 03:30  

Duane Johnson is among the nine researchers from Illinois that have been awarded fellowships with the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA). The funding will be used for his project "GridChem Electronic-Structure Information Workflow and Database."

Kriven named Honorary Fellow

Sat, 05/31/2008 - 10:30  

Trudy Kriven has been named as one of the eight inaugural Honorary Fellows of the Australian Ceramic Society.

Johnson named NCSA/UIUC Faculty Fellow

Sat, 05/31/2008 - 10:30  

Duane Johnson has been selected as one of the NCSA/UIUC Faculty Fellows for the academic year 2008-2009.

Rogers Appointed Flory-Founder Chair

Tue, 04/29/2008 - 08:30  

John Rogers has been appointed as the first Lee J. Flory-Founder Chair in Engineering Innovation at the University of Illinois.

Rogers named MRS Fellow

Tue, 02/19/2008 - 03:30  

John Rogers has been named a Fellow of the Materials Research Society.

MatSE faculty receive honors

Fri, 02/15/2008 - 10:00  

Ken Schweizer is the 2008 recipient of the Tau Beta Pi Daniel C. Drucker Eminent faculty award from the College of Engineering.<br>

Gerard Wong will be named a recipient of one of the 2008 XEROX awards for faculty research.<br>
JJ Cheng has been awarded an NSF CAREER award.

Averback reappointed Hamer Professor

Sun, 12/02/2007 - 18:00  

Robert Averback has been reappointed as the Donald W. Hamer Professor of Materials Science and Engineering.

Lewis named a fellow of APS

Thu, 11/29/2007 - 03:45  

Jennifer Lewis has been named a Fellow of the American Physical Society. The citation reads, "For seminal contributions to the fields of colloidal science and directed assembly of materials."

MatSE grad named Humboldt Fellow

Wed, 11/28/2007 - 18:00  

Blythe Gore, a recent Ph.D. graduate, has received a Humboldt fellowship.

students receive honors

Sun, 11/04/2007 - 18:00  

Abhishek Agrawal won a graduate research award from AVS for "Super-Saturation Etching on Si(100)-(2x1) via Cl Insertion: A New Reaction Pathway."

Martin Bettge won the Best Poster Award of the Vacuum Technology Division for collaborative work of FS-MRL and ANL.

Jacob Palmer won the Best Student Paper Award of the Nanometer-scale Science and Technology Division of the AVS for "Interactions of Nanoparticles with a Dewetting Solid Film."

Allen Hall won Second Place in The Art-Zone competition.

Professor Marvin Wayman obituary

Wed, 08/01/2007 - 03:00  

Marvin Wayman, professor emeritus, passed away on July 29. Prof. Wayman joined the University of Illinois in 1957 and retired in 1995. His research in the field of martensitic transformations led to over 400 papers, more than 100 of which deal with shape memory materials. Memorials may be made to the University of Illinois Department of Materials Science and Engineering for a scholarship in his name.