David A Payne

David A Payne
David A Payne
Professor Emeritus

Professional Highlights

  • David A. Payne earned his B.Sc. (Hons.) in Ceramics from the University of Leeds in 1963. From 1963-65 he worked at Northern Electric Company, Montreal, Canada on ferromagnetic ceramics, and from 1965-67 at Sprague Electric Company, N. Adams, MA on ferroelectric ceramics. In 1967 he received his M.S. in Physics from Williams College, Williamstown, MA. From 1967-73 he was employed at Erie Technological Products, State College, PA on research and development of ceramic capacitors and earned his Ph.D. in Solid State Science from the Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA in 1973. His thesis advisor was Professor L. E. Cross. From 1973-74 Dr. Payne was a Post Doctoral Research Associate in the Materials Research Laboratory at Penn. State carrying out research on ferroelectricity. In 1974 Dr. Payne joined the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign as an Assistant Professor of Ceramic Engineering (Assoc. Prof. '78, Prof. '81). He held several administrative appointments, including Head, Ceramic Engineering (1986-88); Acting Head, Materials Science and Engineering (1987-88); and Associate Director, Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology (1991-94). Interdisciplinary research professorships at UIUC include Microelectronics Center (1982-90), Cement Center (1984-1996), Science and Technology Center for Superconductivity (1987-98), and Beckman Institute (1989-1998). He held the Mitsui Toatsu Chemicals Chair in Frontier Chemistry in the Research Center for Advanced Science and Technology at the University of Tokyo, Japan (1989-90). Professor Payne's research is directed at electrical ceramics, ferroelectrics, piezoelectrics, ceramic processing, microstructure-property relations, crystal growth, materials chemistry, sol-gel processing, micro-contact printing, superconductors and magneto resistivity. He is active in the international electrical ceramics community and has held every officer position in the Electronics Division of the American Ceramic Society. Professor Payne has published more than 288 scientific papers and graduated 58 M.S. and Ph.D. students. Ten patents have been issued from the research.

Research Interests

  • The electrical ceramics research group is working on the crystal growth, chemical synthesis and ceramic processing of new and improved oxide materials for dielectric applications. Of particular interest are structure-property relationships for ferroelectric, piezoelectric and pyroelectric ceramics in single crystal and polycrystalline form, including nanocrystalline materials and thin-layer devices. Single crystals are grown by a variety of methods, including, Czochralski and flux growth, and the basic properties determined. Polycrystalline ceramics are prepared from chemically prepared powders with hot-pressing, and the role of microstructure and boundary conditions determined. Thin films are integrated with substrates by chemical solution methods, and the properties related with bulk values. Projects include: structure-property relations for PMN-PT piezoelectric crystals, phase transformations and microstructure development for Ta2O5 ceramics and Pb-free dielectrics.

Selected Articles in Journals

  • K. H. Kim, D.A. Payne and J. M. Zuo, "Determination of fluctuations in local symmetry and measurement by convergent beam electron diffraction: Applications to a relaxor-based ferroelectric crystal after thermal thermal annealing," J. Appl. Crystalog. 46(5) 1331-1337 (2013).
  • K. H. Kim, D.A. Payne and J. M. Zuo, "Symmetry of piezoelectric (1-x)Pb(Mg1/3Nb2/3)O3- xPbTiO3 (x= 0.31) single crystal at different length scales in the morphotropic phase boundary region,” Phys. Rev. B 86 (18), 184113 (2012).
  • D.A. Payne, James F. Carroll, Jian Tian, and Pengdi Han, “Dielectric and Piezoelectric Properties of PIN-PMN-PT Crystals”, Proc. XV US: Japan Seminar on Dielectric and Piezoelectric Ceramics, Kagoshima, Japan, 251-2 (2011).
  • K. H. Kim, D.A. Payne and J. M. Zuo, “Ion-beam induced domain structure in piezoelectric PMN-PT single crystal”, Appl. Phys. Letts. 97,261910 (2010).
  • G. Xu, D. Yang, K. Chen, D. A. Payne and J. F. Carroll, “ Growth, domain dynamics and piezoelectric properties of some lead-free ferroelectric crystals”, J. Electroceram. 24:226-230 (2010).
  • T. A. Berfield, J. F. Carroll, D. A. Payne and N. R. Sottos, “Thermal strain measurement in sol-gel lead zirconate titanate thin films”, J. Appl. Phys. 106, 123501-7 (2009).
  • J. Tian, P. Han, J.F. Carroll and D. A. Payne, “ Improved properties of piezoelectric crystal lead indium niobate- lead magnesium niobate-lead titanate”, 2008 IEEE International Ultrasonics Symposium Proceedings (Beijing), pp 269-271 (2008).
  • J. Tian, P. Han, X. Huang, H. Pan, J. Carroll, and D. A. Payne, “ Improved stability for piezoelectric crystals grown in the lead indium niobate-lead magnesium niobate-lead titanate system”, Appl. Phys. Letts. 91, 222903 (2007).
  • G. L. Brennecka and D. A. Payne,” Densification and grain growth for powder derived Ta2O5-TiO2 Ceramics”, J. Cer. S. Jpn. 115 (10) 678-682 (2007).
  • J. F. Carroll III, D. A. Payne, Y. Noguchi and M. Miyayama, "Field-induced strain behavior for potassium sodium bismuth titanate ceramics", IEEE Trans. UFFC, 54(12): 2516-22 (2007).
  • J. Tian, P. Han and D. A. Payne, “Measurements along the growth direction of PMN-PT Crystals: Dielectric, piezoelectric, and elastic properties”, IEEE Trans. UFFC, 54:1895-1902(2007).
  • G. L. Brennecka, D. A. Payne, P. Sarin, W. M. Kriven and H. Hellwig, “Phase transformations in the high temperature form of pure and TiO2-stabilized Ta2O5”, J. Am. Ceram. Soc.90 [9] 2947-53 (2007).


  • Fellow, British Institute of Ceramics (1978)
  • Fellow, American Ceramic Society (1979)
  • Xerox Faculty Award (1981)
  • Richard M. Fulrath Award, presented jointly by the Department of Materials Science and Mineral Engineering UC - Berkeley, the Northern California Section of ACerS, and the Basic Science Division of the Japanese Ceramic Society (1986)
  • International Academy of Ceramics (1989)
  • Fellow, Institute of Materials (1993)
  • Centennial Fellow, College of Earth and Mineral Sciences, Pennsylvania State University (1996)
  • Henry Award, American Ceramic Society (1996)
  • Distinguished Lecturer Award, IEEE Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics and Frequency Control Society (2001-02)
  • International Prize, Japan Fine Ceramics Association (2001)
  • Senior Member, IEEE (2002)
  • Outstanding Educator Award, American Ceramic Society (2003)
  • Ferroelectrics Recognition Award, IEEE Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics, and Frequency Control Society (2004)
  • Chartered Scientist, CSci IoM3 (2005)
  • Robert B. Sosman Award for outstanding achievement in basic science, American Ceramic Society (2007)
  • W.R. Buessem Award, Center for Dielectric Studies, Penn State (2009)
  • Bridge Builder Award, US-Japan Seminar on Dielectric and Piezoelectric Ceramics, Kagoshima, Japan (2011)