Lambert Ben Freund

Lambert Ben Freund
Lambert Ben Freund
Adjunct Professor
(401) 252-9625
302C Materials Science & Eng Bld

Professional Highlights

  • After earning Bachelors and Masters degrees at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1964 and 1965, respectively, Freund earned his Ph.D. degree from Northwestern University in 1967 in the program on Theoretical and Applied Mechanics.  Thereafter, he served on the Faculty of the Division of Engineering at Brown University until 2010, including a term as Chair of the Engineering Executive Committee.  During this period, he has also held visiting appointments at Harvard University, twice at Stanford University, University of California at Berkeley, twice at  the California Institute of Technology and the University of Illinois.  He is currently the H. L. Goddard University Professor (emeritus) at Brown University. Dr. Freund is the author or co-author of approximately 230 published articles on stress waves in solids, fracture mechanics, seismology, dislocation theory, mechanics of thin films, microstructure evolution in films, bio-adhesion and engineering education, plus monographs on Dynamic Fracture Mechanics (Cambridge University Press, 1990; paperback, 1998) and, with S. Suresh, on Thin Film Materials (Cambridge University Press, 2003; paperback, 2009. A Chinese language  translation has also appeared (Science Press, Beijing, 2006). 

Research Statement

His current research interests include: mechanics of biological materials (cell adhesion, molecular transport in cell walls, molecular bond kinetics, force generation by living cells) and mechanics of thin film materials (evolution of microstructure during semiconductor deposition, dislocation formation and growth, influence of strain on quantum mechanical transport in semiconductors). In professional service, Dr. Freund has served as Chair of the Executive Committee of the Applied Mechanics Division of ASME, as Editor of the ASME Journal of Applied Mechanics (1983-88), as Editor of the Journal of the Mechanics and Physics of Solids (1992-2005), as Editor of Cambridge Monographs on Mathematics and Mechanics (1992-2004), and as President of the International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics. Included among his principal honors are the George R Irwin Medal of ASTM, the William Prager Medal of SES, the Stephen P Timoshenko Medal of ASME and the Arpad Nadai Medal of ASME.  He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.