Christopher Evans

Christopher Evans
Christopher Evans

Christopher Evans

Assistant Professor
Materials Science and Engineering
202A Materials Science & Eng Bld
1304 W. Green
Urbana Illinois 61801
(217) 300-9949

polymer physics, polymer synthesis, ionic materials, energy storage, membranes, nanoscale spectroscopy, interfacial and nanoscale dynamics

For more information


Professor Evans received his bachelors in both Chemical Engineering as well as Chemistry from the University of Minnesota and his PhD in Chemical Engineering from Northwestern University. Following a brief stint at UC Berkeley, he moved to UC Santa Barbara to continue his postdoc. He joined the faculty at UIUC in 2016. His professional awards include the Ryan Fellowship, 3M Fellowship, and the AkzoNobel award.

Academic and Scientific Experience


  • 2013, PhD, Northwestern University
  • 2008, Bachelor of Chemical Engineering, University of Minnesota
  • 2008, Bachelor of Science in Chemistry, University of Minnesota

Courses Taught

  • CHEM 480 - Polymer Chemistry
  • MSE 457 - Polymer Chemistry
  • MSE 595 - Materials Colloquium
  • MSE 598 - Transport in Polymers

Research Statement

The Evans group is interested in probing the interfacial physics of charged polymers with nanoscale resolution. Such materials are ubiquitous in energy storage and generation schemes as well as in water purification and coatings. Fundamental properties of charged polymers such as adhesion, wetting, lubrication, and capacitance are frequently dictated by the interaction at a charged interface (electrode). To study the interfacial dynamics and thermodynamics of ionic polymers, we combine materials synthesis with advanced spectroscopic methods to probe physics with nanoscale resolution. We then use this fundamental insight to engineer improved, responsive ionic materials which can be triggered by the application of stimuli such as electric fields.

Research Interests

  • Polymer Physics, Diffusion, Energy Materials, Nanoscale and Interfacial Physics

Selected Articles in Journals


  • American Chemical Society: Petroleum Research Fund Doctoral New Investigator (2017)
  • NSF CAREER Award (2017)
  • AkzoNobel Award Winner (2012)
  • 3M Fellowship (2010)
  • Ryan Fellowship (2010)

Teaching Honors

  • Teachers Ranked as Excellent (Fall 2016)