Robert Maass awarded the Masing Memorial Medal from the German Materials Society (DGM)


Since 1957, the Masing Memorial Medal has recognized the best contribution in materials science of a young scientist and member of the society. This year, Robert Maass’ recent work in the area of strain-localization and discrete plasticity in metals was honored. The award is named after Georg Masing, the first chair of the Institute of Metals Physics (now Institute of Materials Physics) at the University of Goettingen and honorary chair of the DGM.

“I am very happy about this fine recognition. It shows that our research activities are of interest to the international research community, and I would like to thank my group for the excellent work. It is also humbling to see the important metallurgists that have received this award since its endowment,” Maass says.

Robert Maass joined the Department of Materials Science and Engineering in 2015. His group focuses on structural processes in metallic materials. Previously, Maass has been awarded the NSF Career award, the Young Leaders Award from The Minerals, Metals, and Materials Society, the Emmy Noether award by the German Research Foundation, and the DGM Young Talent Award. He is a member of the international Alexander von Humboldt network.